miteypen

Vacation Debriefing

In Home, Self Improvement, Travel on April 13, 2009 at 11:36 am

I feel like I have a vacation hangover. This is the second full day since I’ve been back and I still can’t get into my daily rhythm (whatever that may be). It’s not just that I’m tired, because I don’t really feel that bad. It was a hectic week, though, what with three full days at Disney parks and a sixteen-hour straight-through drive home at the end of it.

Vacations can be for all kinds of purposes–relaxation, reflection, education, new experiences, excitement, for example–but I think all vacations cause you to reassess what you normally do with your life when you’re not on vacation. You ask yourself: if I enjoy this so much, why don’t I do more things like it when I’m home? Or you find out that you prefer your every-day life and location. You may even discover a new direction for your life: a move, a change of vocation, new friendships or relationships.

I didn’t meet anyone new on my vacation, and I’m not ready to move to Florida. Nor do I want to go to amusement parks periodically (in fact, I probably would never go to another one if it weren’t for my grandchildren). But I did enjoy getting outside more, getting some fresh air and exercise and rediscovering some muscle groups that I’d forgotten I had.

I also feel a little younger for having gotten out of my usual cocoon and having an adventure. My daughter swears I looked younger after riding the roller coaster that I was so afraid to go on. And I went on two of them! Did they take me backward in time a little? Maybe. It did feel good to shake it up a bit and prove to myself that I’m capable of something new.

I’m glad to be home again, but I don’t want the glow of this vacation to wear off too quickly. I don’t want it to seem as if it never happened. What’s the good of experiencing something new if it doesn’t change you in some way (hopefully for the better)? I do feel like it’s going to take me some time to come to terms with what this vacation meant to me. Not because it was so earth-shattering. But it did shake me up a bit, and I’m anxious to see how I handle the after-shocks.

Leave a Reply

