miteypen

My Religion Project

In Religion on January 26, 2009 at 4:18 pm

I think I know what church I want to start going to: it’s downtown, perhaps five minutes from me, a stone mid-to-late nineteenth century building right next door to the Columbus Museum of Art. (Since the Museum is free on Sundays, I could go there after church and enlighten my soul even further!) It’s a United Church of Christ congregation. I happened upon it during my research of Protestant churches other than the ones I was already familiar with (Lutheran, Methodist, Presbyterian and Episcopal). I was attracted to it because it describes itself as an open and affirming community of faith:

We believe we are all created in God’s image, female and male, and we are called to love our neighbors as Jesus loves us. We believe we are many members, but one body in Christ, and called to unite all people in God’s love. We welcome and affirm all people. We invite those who are seeking God’s presence in their lives to join us in our common journey. Our faith community seeks to unite persons of all ages, races, nationalities, ethnicities, sexual orientations, mental and physical abilities, socioeconomic levels, and political and theological backgrounds. Together in our diversity, and being empowered and directed by the Holy Spirit, we will “do justice, love kindness, and walk humbly with our God” (Micah 6:8).

Leave a comment