miteypen

Book Review: Never Let Me Go

In Book Reviews on January 15, 2009 at 10:26 am

Never Let Me Go Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

My review


rating: 4 of 5 stars
Reading literary fiction is a new emphasis for me and not one I was entirely looking forward to. So I was pleasantly surprised by Never Let Me Go. It is basically science fiction but set, strangely enough, in the 1990s. I don’t want to spoil the story so I’m not going to recount it here. Part of the fun is that the author doesn’t come right out and tell you what it’s about. I started out the book thinking that it was about a boarding school in England. It is, but it’s so much more than that.

Literary fiction often means that there are no neatly tied-up or happy endings and this book is no exception. I’m used to genre fiction which is the opposite. But this book is such a satisfying read, I didn’t really mind. It’s entertaining and makes you think at the same time.

Beware: the book can get a little tedious: the main character goes over her childhood memories almost obsessively. But it’s well worth wading through them to gather the clues that lead you to the revelation at the end.

View all my reviews.

Leave a Reply

