miteypen

New Year Book List

In Book Reviews, Writers on January 9, 2009 at 3:51 pm

Books I’d like to read in 2009:

  1. Ex Libris: Confessions of a Common Reader, Ann Fadiman (nonfiction)
  2. Rereadings, edited by Ann Fadiman (nonfiction)
  3. Never Let Me Go, Katzuo Ishiguro
  4. The Crooked Inheritance, Marge Piercy (poems)
  5. Summit Avenue, Mary Sharratt
  6. The Terror, Dan Simmons
  7. In the Land of Invisible Women, Qanta Ahmed (nonfiction)
  8. A Life of One’s Own: A Guide to Better Living Through the Work and Wisdom of Virginia Woolf, Ilana Simons (nonfiction)
  9. An Exact Replica of a Figment of My Imagination, Elizabeth McCracken  (literary nonfiction)
  10. The Paper Anniversary, Joan Wickersham
  11. The Story of Edgar Sawtelle, David Wroblewski
  12. The Tin Roof Blowdown, James Lee Burke
  13. Sloppy Firsts, Megan McCafferty
  14. Paris Trout, Pete Dexter
  15. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, Junot Diaz
  16. The Gathering, Anne Enright
  17. The Night Watch, Sara Waters
  18. Waiting, Ha Jin
  19. Against Interpretation, and other essays, Susan Sontag (nonfiction)
  20. The Given Day, Dennis Lehane
  21. A Beautiful Place to Die, Malla Nunn
  22. Fever 1793, Laurie Halse Anderson (Young Adult)
  23. Water For Elephants, Sara Gruen
  24. The Hour I First Believed, Wally Lamb
  25. Eclipse, Richard North Patterson
  26. House of Leaves, Mark Z. Danielewski
  27. The Secret Life of Bees, Sue Monk Kidd
  28. The Book Thief, Markus Zusak (Young Adult)
  29. The Road, Cormac McCarthy
  30. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Jonathan Safran Foer

That ought to get me started! If you’ve read one of these, let me know what you thought of it.

  1. I like your book list. It seems a lot to read, but I am sure with dedication, is not a problem to finish.

    • Thanks for checking out the list! I’ve read two already, and so far so good. Have you read any of the books on the list? I’d like to know your opinions.

      Have a great 2009!

  2. […] I just can’t believe that it’s been a year since I made this list. (See my original post.) Right now I have #1 and #6 in my possession. I started #6, but it’s not a typical Dennis […]

Leave a Reply

