miteypen

Prejudice

In Religion on November 17, 2008 at 1:03 pm

What I feared is already happening: a surge of hate crimes across the nation after the election of our first black president. I am so afraid for his safety and I’m afraid of certain segments of our society. We will have to worry as much about home-grown terrorism as we do about al Qaeda. I only hope that the law enforcement entities are ready, willing and able to protect President-Elect Obama and his family. I pray every day that he will not be assassinated.

I don’t understand the mind-set of people who would burn crosses in the front yards of black and biracial families. Or who would have assassination betting pools. They obviously are completely incapable of empathy. Nor do they seem to have heard of the Golden Rule. What is the most disconcerting is that many of them call themselves Christians.

In my opinion, there is no place in Christianity for being against anyone. Jesus wasn’t. That’s the guide I use and it has served me well. God is inclusive; He has to be to draw us all to Him. I know how insidious prejudice is; most of us harbor prejudice of one kind or another. We may not even be aware of it. But if we are, our earnest prayer should be that we be given the mind of Christ, that our prejudices should be taken from us.

Leave a Reply

