miteypen

I’m a Pessimist

In Politics on October 20, 2008 at 5:54 pm

I’m so afraid that McCain is going to win this election. My fear partly comes from the experience of the last two presidential campaigns. During those I so hoped for my candidate to win, in both my hopes were dashed. But my fear comes from a more insidious place: I am a confirmed pessimist.

I don’t believe that most people are able to vote rationally. I believe that most people are ruled by their emotions. I believe that most people are ultimately racist. I believe that most people are greedy and want to identify themselves with the upper class in this society, even if they don’t belong there according to their actual incomes. I don’t believe that the majority in this country really cares about helping those in need. And I do believe that people are much more likely to believe the worst about a person, rather than the best–much like myself.

Perhaps that’s why I’m so pessimistic about human nature: because I see its worst aspects in me. Oh, I’m open-minded when it comes to my own beliefs! I’m willing to believe the best about those whose beliefs correspond with my own, but not about those whose don’t. So that’s why I don’t expect true open-mindedness from the electorate. We basically vote not just our consciences, but according to our particular world views.

I want to believe that all people are considered equal, that this is not a nation of haves and have nots, that human beings are essentially unselfish, but I see nothing but evidence to the contrary. Prejudice runs rampant, those who have don’t want to share it with those who don’t, and people act–and vote–out of their own desires instead of the needs of others.

If McCain is elected, I will be vindicated–as a confirmed pessimist.

Leave a comment