miteypen

Looking to the Future

In Politics on September 24, 2008 at 3:05 pm

i’ve written elsewhere about my politics, mainly in femagination.blogspot.com. I can hardly wait for the election to be behind us, not because I’m sick of the campaign ads–I haven’t really seen that many–but because of the suspense. I’m so afraid that McCain is going to win. I guess I just want to know the worst. I’m such a pessimist, I know, but I also have seen how things work in this country, and I do believe that there are plenty of people out there who will stick with the Republicans because of what they stand for: conservative, traditional values. I don’t know why so many people are so afraid of the liberal label. If anything, you’d think that they’d be embracing the prospect of new solutions, seeing as how the old ones haven’t worked out so well.

I’m afraid of a lot of things. I think we’re heading toward a severe recession, especially if McCain wins. I think we’re going to see a crackdown on reproductive rights. We may even see Roe v. Wade overturned. Pro-lifers are even going to be going after birth control. We may see a return of the draft. I’m so afraid for my grandson. He’s only nine, but it may take some time before the draft is instituted and then I don’t see it being lifted anytime soon. Because I think that the U.S. is only going to be sticking its nose in other countries’ business even more than it is now. And that will require military action.

i’ve been working on a science fiction story and found something interesting: when I tried to figure out what our society could be like in fifty years, it scared the hell out of me. Trends today may very well create nightmares tomorrow. Like, will lower income people ever be able to buy houses? Will the upper class continue to grow and control everything? Will the middle class exist just to serve the upper classes? Will lower income people ever have decent health care? Who will be able to afford to go to college? Will our democratic way of life vanish?

Some nightmares are already reality. The middle class is finding it harder and harder to support itself. The lower classes are finding it impossible. The upper classes don’t care as long as they get to keep what they earn and own. Values are getting more conservative. Everything is getting more expensive.

I wasn’t happy about it, but I wasn’t so concerned when the housing crisis first developed. I’ve already mortgaged my home to the hilt, but since I don’t need to sell any time soon, the crisis didn’t appear to affect me. But then my retirement account started to lose money. It’s lost almost 20% since last October. I’m having to face the reality that I’m not going to be able to retire–ever! I won’t have the means to support myself if I did. My new health care plan is twice as expensive as my old one was (I was forced to change plans.) And then there are the daily expenses like gas and food. Everytime I go to the grocery I feel physically sick over the rise in prices–in just a few short months. Soon our income, which has been adequate, isn’t going to cover our basic expenses. And we have no means of making more money in the near future.

I don’t know if Obama has the answers. But McCain’s are too much like Bush’s and we’ve seen where that’s gotten us.

Leave a Reply

